Cyber Gear UAE Today
Guest Posts

Abu Dhabi Opens Worldwide Nominations and Submissions for Zayed Future Energy Prize

2007 Nobel Laureate Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pachauri and Masdar CEO, Dr. Sultan Al Jaber today announced the official call for nominations and submissions for the Zayed Future Energy Prize (ZFEP), an international awards program to recognize individuals, companies, organizations, and NGO’s who are leading the global search for future energy solutions. Named after the UAE’s Founding Father late HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the Zayed Future Energy Prize was launched in January this year at the inaugural World Future Energy Summit by HH General Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, to encourage innovations in the field of clean energy and sustainable development. The prize is a Masdar initiative, which is Abu Dhabi’s landmark program to develop sustainable solutions to meet the world’s future energy demand. The winner and finalists of the first Zayed Future Energy Prize (ZFEP) will be announced at the World Future Energy Summit on January, 19th 2009. The winner will receive US$1.5 million and two finalists will receive US$350,000 each to take their ideas and ambitions forward. The jury, who will be responsible for selecting the winners, was also announced today and includes some of the world’s leading experts in future energy and climate change. The full jury includes: Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pachauri, Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Chairman of the Jury for ZFE; HE Olafur Grimsson, President of Iceland; HE Khaled Irani, Environment Minister of Jordan; HE Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company (Masdar); Lord John Browne, Managing Director, Riverstone Holdings; Lord Norman Foster, Founder and Chairman, Foster + Partners and Jeremy Rifkin, President of the Foundation on Economic Trends. "Climate change is one of the most significant challenges we face today. Over the past two decades we have seen some incredible advancements in the development of alternate sources of energy, but there is still a long road ahead. The Zayed Future Energy Prize will be an important symbol for creating future energy choices, as it will be honoring the contributions of energy pioneers and inspiring others to seek and create innovative solutions for a sustainable future," said Dr. R.K. Pachauri, Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Chairman of the Jury for ZFEP. "In establishing the Zayed Future Energy Prize (ZFEP), Abu Dhabi honors and continues HH Sheikh Zayed’s environmental legacy and advocacy for sustainable development. This vision is for a new energy future, whereby the world has access to energy that is sustainable, accessible, and affordable. This can be achieved by driving the best minds to explore science and technology, and develop evolutionary solutions," added Sultan Al Jaber, CEO of Masdar and Director General of ZFEP. A dual language, Arabic and English website was designed specifically for the prize and is now live. The website,, will be a focal point for information and updates on The Zayed Future Energy Prize (ZFEP) and will be a portal for entering nominations and submissions. Nominations and Submissions for the Zayed Future Energy Prize (ZFEP) will be open until July 31, 2008 and September 30, 2008, respectively. The Zayed Future Energy Prize (ZFEP) is the preeminent award in field of clean energy supported by the Government of Abu Dhabi and announced at the World Future Energy Summit in 2008. It recognizes and aspires individuals, organizations and companies--making contributions in clean energy research, engineering, theoretical advancement, and/or in the areas public policy and public awareness. Projects and innovations in one or more of the following fields are eligible for nomination: • Renewable and sustainable energy • Efficient use of traditional sources of energy • Conservation • Sustainable energy policy • Communication and public awareness. The selection process for the Prize is modeled on the Nobel Prize. The finalists will be selected by global experts in clean energy. The winner will be awarded a prize of $1.5 million and the two finalists will be awarded a $350,000 each.

View News Headlines

We accept guest posts, contact us now  
Another Cyber Gear site